This page has three sections: Major Works, Dime Novels, and Serial Novels. Most bibliographies of Jane’s books don’t make these distinctions, but separating the categories provides better insight into her work.

In addition to the texts on this page, I have identified 120 shorter pieces that Jane published between 1858-1894. I’m still finding new ones all the time!

Click on the links below to be taken to digitized editions of the texts.

Major Works

Fairy Dreams; or, Wanderings in Elf-Land. Boston: Tilton, 1859.

The Tailor Boy. Tifton & Co, 1865.

Dora Darling: The Daughter of the Regiment. Boston: Tilton, 1865.

Outpost. Boston: Tilton, 1867.

Cipher: A Romance. New York: Sheldon, 1869.

  • First serialized in The Galaxy October 1868-April 1869; reprint dedicated to Louisa May Alcott, who helped her to write it.

Moonfolk: A True Account of the Home of the Fairy Tales. New York: Putnam, 1874.

Mrs. Beauchamp Brown. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1880.

A Nameless Nobleman. Boston: Osgood, 1881.

The Desmond Hundred. Boston: Osgood, 1882.

Nantucket Scraps: Being the Experiences of an Off-Islander, in Season and Out of Season, Among a Passing People. Boston: Osgood, 1883.

Standish of Standish: A Story of the Pilgrims. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1889.

Dr. LeBaron and His Daughters. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 1890.

Betty Alden: The First Born Daughter of the Pilgrims. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 1891.

David Alden’s Daughter and Other Stories of Colonial Times. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin, 1892.

Dime Novels

Jane G. Austin published three dime novels as she was trying to establish her career. She and Louisa May Alcott both published with Elliott, Thomas, and Talbot, and may have even helped each other get published there. The most famous publisher of dime novels today is Beadle, who published less sensational works. The first two novelettes have not been digitized, but I’ve viewed them both in special collections, which I’ve linked in the titles. The third originally appeared in Ballou’s Monthly Magazine, so the text is included in the link.

Kinah’s Curse! Or, The Downfall of Carnaby Cedars. Boston: Elliott, Thomes & Talbot, 1864.

The Novice; or, Mother Church Thwarted. Boston: Elliott, Thomes & Talbot, 1865.

The Outcast; or, The Master of Falcon’s Eyrie. Boston: Elliott, Thomes & Talbot, 1865.

Serial Novels

Jane wrote quite a few serial novels, which were novels told in a series of installments in periodicals. Many, many nineteenth-century authors did the same. In fact, the best-selling book of the nineteenth century, Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe, was a serial publication first.

After Jane became famous for her historical fiction, publishers such as F.M. Lupton reprinted some of her earlier serial novels and longer stories, such as the image below. Jane did not give permission for these reprints, nor would she have earned any money from them.

Many other bibliographies of her work include reprints like these, but I’ve chosen to separate them for clarity. I included Cipher in the list of major works above, because Jane was so furious at the drastic cuts and edits that The Galaxy made to the work she called “the babe of her brain” that she found another publisher for it and printed it in book form. Cipher is also notable because she dedicates the book to Louisa May Alcott.

These are Jane’s serial novels that were reprinted later as bound texts:

The Shadow of Moloch Mountain. New York: Sheldon, 1870.

  • First serialized in Hearth and Home in fall of 1870

The Story of a Storm. New York: Lupton, 1886.

  • First serialized in Peterson’s magazine in 1882.

Dolores. New York: Lupton, 1890.

It Never Did Run Smooth. New York: Lupton, 1892.

  • Serialized in Peterson’s Magazine, 1882

Queen Tempest. New York: Ivers, 1892.

The Twelve Great Diamonds. New York: Lupton, 1892.

  • First serialized in Peterson’s magazine, 1881

The Cedar Swamp Mystery. New York: Lupton, Lovell, 1901.

  • First serialized in Peterson’s magazine, 1886.   

The Pirate of Cape Canaveral. New York: Lupton, 1901.